My Life

2018: A less traumatic year than last. Clare had a few more operations to help with being able to use her hand. She has good movement and usage and has finished medical treatment, however she, understandably, misses her old hand. We did our first big road trip with the boys in our newish car โ€“ all the way from Brisbane to Sydney and back via Tenterfield. This was the year we got the boys doing some longer and more difficult walks; the highlight was the pyramid at Giraween National Park. I personally conquered some challenging peaks with the help from an experienced mountain climber friend. I didnโ€™t change jobs this year but the travel requirement became increasingly difficult domestically, physically and mentally.

2017: We moved house in May to save on rent and to continue spending as much time as possible with the boys. Clare contracted necrostising facisitis during our move which meant she was suddenly fighting for her life in intensive care. During the longest time weโ€™d ever spent apart, looking after our boys whoโ€™d sheโ€™d never spent a night apart from, I thought it was the worst year of my life. But it turned out to be the best year of my life because we got to keep Clare. Everything else became unimportant. Started meditating. Somehow suddenly stopped biting my finger nails for the first time in my life.

2016: Kept the same job for the entire year, travelled overseas three times for work and one trip with my family to Southern California. Reconciled with brother and parents. Made my first Ojo de Dios. Celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary and 20 year relationship anniversary with Kitty. Entered the next age demographic (35-44). Did my first long distance walk (35km), ended up doing three, and made my first beach labyrinth. Kept being healthy.

2015: Changed jobs again – working at home for a US company for the first time. Travelled a lot for work: New Zealand for the first time to Auckland for a conference, Park City, Utah for a work event, Boston for a conference and Sydney for a conference. Stopped taking antidepressants for the first time in many years as worked out a way to manage anxiety and depression (exercise, eating right and having time out in nature). After over 12 months of lifestyle changes I am at a body weight that I feel comfortable about for the first time in many years (35 kilograms less than I was). Started reading novels again after a couple of years off. Had rather large falling outs with a brother (or two) and my parents.

2014: Left my job of three and a half years to start a job which was worse. Lasted a few months then moved to a new job which ended up quite good. Travelled to Seattle for a conference (flying business/first class for the first time), and Bali for a brother’s wedding.

2013: Baby number three (the Whale) was born in July. Moved to the (inner) suburbs (house) after living for 8 years in the inner city (apartment). Wasn’t as big of a change as I had thought and kids love it. Visited New York City for the second time for a work conference (and loved it). Work still not great. Had a vasectomy.

2012: Organised a work related conference in Austin, Texas in March which resulted in a falling out with a friend of many years. Struggled with work most of the year but came out okay in the end. Dabbled in old school hifi to return to more modern compact JBL speakers. Current succulent and cacti collection stands at 100 pots.

2011: Moved into a bigger apartment in anticipation of large family size (same street, same suburb). Traveled to San Francisco for work with Kitty & Junior Pixels. Little bear was born late in the year, and shortly after his birth, whilst still on leave, I dislocated my patella (knee cap) resulting in knee surgery and the sudden realization I would die. Became a teetotaler.

2010: Took junior pixels for a holiday in Malaysia when he was six months old. Changed jobs after 3 years in previous position. Bought first Apple Mac in 6 years.

2009: Visited Austin, Texas for a conference (first visit to the USA) in January. In April, we spent 3 weeks in the USA visiting NYC, Vegas, SF and LA. My grandma died in September and soon after junior pixels entered the world and completely changed our life.

2008: Traveled to Kuala Lumpur, Bangkok and KL with Kitty.

2007: Adjusted to living in Brisbane.Started my collection of succulents and cacti. Accepted my first permanent job in Brisbane.

2006: Moved to Brisbane from Canberra as sick of the cold and prefer to be closer to home. Started working as a contractor. Married Kitty after nearly 10 years of dating.

2005: Sold the Apple Mac due to reliability issues.

2004: Holidayed in Bangkok and Kho Samet.

2003: Moved to Canberra from the Gold Coast to start graduate jobs. Bought an Apple Mac before they were cool.

2002: Finished IT degree with excellent grades.

2001: Drank way too much alcohol, but got increasingly good grades. Got my first tattoo (an @ on my right hand wrist).

2000: Started IT degree at Griffith University on the Gold Coast much to the delight of my parents. Met a good group of study friends.

1999: Much to the dismay of parents, took a year off study to work in Cafes on the Gold Coast then spent three months in the UK and Thailand backpacking with Kitty.

1998: Finished high school on the Gold Coast

1997: Shot up in height, and started dating Kitty and eventually fell in love with her.

1994-1996: Struggled at a new private high school as the poor, fat kid with acne.

1992-1993: Family moved from Taree, NSW to the Gold Coast in Queensland due to traumatic shit, lack of options for us in Taree, and my Dad being offered a voluntary redundancy by the NSW Government. Skipped a grade when starting at a new public school, which I quite enjoyed.

1983-1992: Grew up in Taree, NSW with my family. Met my first ‘best friend’ when I was two (who I still speak to today). Went to a public primary school. Had some traumatic shit happen which took years to forget.

1982: Moved from Grafton to Taree, NSW for my Dad’s work.

1981: Born in Grafton, NSW, the city of Jacarandas. Lived in a housing commission house with my parents and three older brothers.